Time to Play!

Welcome to the Peaceful Parenting Challenge Blog Carnival: Week #4 – Slow Down

This post was written for inclusion in the 10 Week Peaceful Parenting Challenge Blog Carnival hosted by Prenatal to Parenting. This week our participants have written about Slowing Down. We hope you enjoy this week’s posts and consider joining us next week when we share about a week of Practicing Presence.

This week’s challenge to slow down is one that I’ve always had a very hard time with.  I love to be with my children but I’m usually busy cleaning, cooking or on the computer and rarely take time to sit and play with them. And when I do take the time I am usually watching the clock!

My husband doesn’t have my affliction.  He’d way rather hang out with the boys and play than clean!  So I usually send them somewhere else to play so I can clean in peace.  It works for us.

Although I am inherently a “busy body” I have found that since I’ve been on anti-depressants, I have been able to actually enjoy slowing down. For example, I lay with my boys until they fall asleep every night.  My husband started the tradition with our oldest three years ago and I thought he was insane! It took such a long time, and sucked up all the free time we had once the kiddos went to bed. But at some point last year, we switched which kids we put to bed and I put the older boy to bed who was used to having someone lay down with him. And now I love it! I lay down, practice my deep breathing and inhale the sweet smell of my little boy while cuddling his warm little body. I find myself thinking about the future when he won’t want his night time cuddles and I get sad!

I blame my busy-ness on the fact that I have anxiety.  As an anxious person I tent to spend a lot of time thinking about the future, so when they anxiety is dulled, I can enjoy life as it is happening. My medication enables me to be a more patient and present mother.

And presently we are on vacation in the Okanagan and it’s been very easy to slow down and play with the boys. I have been building sandcastles at the beach and having water fights in the back yard.  Part of the reason I can take so much time to play is because I’m not under pressure to do anything else, like work or clean.  So I feel like a bit of a cheater this week.  My goal is to continue to play with the boys like we are on holidays, even when we get home 🙂

Small Things Often– Sarah from Prenatal to Parenting realizes the small moments are the ones that matter the most.

Stop, Amy Stop. Amy from The Connection We Share accepts her family’s invitation to slow down and finds that life will not be “better” when items get crossed off to-do lists. Life is perfect, right now.

Slow Down- Peaceful Parenting Challenge – Week 4 – Katrina from Kalem Photography calls her week a complete failure.

Slowing Down – Ricky from Daddy Blogger says slowing down doesn’t come naturally.

A Work in Progress  Verena from Memory Maker Events builds in some time for herself.

What really matters Kathryn from Curiosity and the Kat realizes it is the little things that matter and help to put our life into perspective.

Time to Play Michelle from My Peaceful Parenting feels like a bit of a cheater.

Slow and Steady wins– Lolly from My Journey Home questions what are we all rushing towards.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Prenatal to Parenting · Doula · Parent Educator · Small Things Often
  2. Trackback: Slow Down - Peaceful Parenting Challenge - Week 4 | Kalem Photography
  3. Trackback: Another Sorrol Website
  4. Trackback: stop amy stop | Connect & Bond With The People You Love
  5. Trackback: Slowing Down

Leave a Reply

