Being in the Now

Welcome to the Peaceful Parenting Challenge Blog Carnival: Week #3- Practicing Mindfulness

This post was written for inclusion in the 10 Week Peaceful Parenting Challenge Blog Carnival hosted by Prenatal to Parenting. This week our participants have written about Practicing Mindfulness. We hope you enjoy this week’s posts and consider joining us next week when we share about a week of Slowing Down.

Being in the Now – Week #3 of the Peaceful Parenting Challenge, Mindfulness

“Life is what happens to you while you are busy making other plans,” said John Lennon in his song “Beautiful Boy”.  I believe this whole heartedly.  Relishing your life at this exact moment is, in my opinion, true happiness.

That’s why I was so excited about this week’s challenge to practice mindfulness.  Unlike last week’s challenge where I felt like I’d been there, done that, this week, practicing mindfulness was new to me.  I get excited often and my thoughts tend to take over my being, and when that happens I usually stop and start to breathe slowly to slow myself down.  This week, I added mindfulness to my calm down routine and it was awesome!

I found that when I stopped, started taking deep breaths, closed my eyes and concentrated on either what I could feel or hear, I was able to be totally present for a good amount of time.  Concentrating on what I could hear or feel gave my mind something to do which kept it busy.

Just last night, my husband, my brother and I were all sitting outside on the patio after dinner.  The kids were playing and I started to think about what had to be done: collect dishes, put them in the dishwasher, get kids in, get them bathed….etc.  But then I felt the warmth of the sun on my skin and closed my eyes and just paid attention to how good that felt.  I felt the sun on my forehead, my arms, and my neck and it felt amazing!  It was so powerful to just sit for two minutes and really take in the moment.

This week I plan to practice a bit of mindfulness with my 4-year-old.  What works for me will work for him too!

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

No Need To Schedule Mindfulness– Sarah from Prenatal to Parenting discovers mindfulness isn’t something she needs to make time for.

Living in the Present Moment – Amber from strocel.com shares how she has been practicing presence.

Practicing Mindfulness Ricky at Daddy Blogger takes his wife on a date to The Dark Table restaurant in Kitsilano to practice mindfulness.

Being Mindful – Peaceful Parenting Challenge – Week 3 – Katrina from Kalem Photography finds her way back to a good old habit.

Week #3- Practicing Mindfulness – Jennifer from The Children’s Directory discovers how sometimes we get so caught up in all the garbage that life dumps on us that we forget
the little things that makes it all worth it.

Week 3 – MindfullnessAmanda from Family and Baby Sign Language harnesses her power to attract more positive.

Lesson Already Learned – Verena from Memory Maker Events realizes she’s already learned mindfulness.

Mindfulness of Self – Week 3: Peaceful Parenting – Kathryn from Curiosity and the Kat finds mindfulness exhausting.

Being in the Now – Week #3 of the Peaceful Parenting Challenge, Mindfulness – Michelle from My Peaceful Parenting finds true happiness in the moment.

Have a full mind?  Try being mindful! – Lolly from My Journey Home challenges herself to live in the moment and stop looking forward.

Leave a Reply

